Writing/Why it’s quiet around here

Unfortunately, I have to sleep. That’s the key problem. If I could drop the sleeping, I could do everything. Though I’d probably end up over-committing the additional 6 or 7 hours I’d clawed back through adopting a non-somniac lifestyle and I’d be back where I started.

Either way, my poor blog is being neglected, bloggers I love aren’t being read and my whole position vis à vis the blogosphere is seriously in doubt.

It’s Writing’s fault.

I’m Writing again at the moment and “Writing” tends to get in the way of any other kind of “writing”. Do you find that, sole-surviving, patient, beloved reader? I’ve committed to the 500 words a day programme ( a kind of reverse twelve step for writers previously in recovery), am doing a creative writing group for people with a substantial Work-In-Progress (or WIP as we Writers like to say) and am generally doing my best to address the nom de blog of Dad Who Writes.

Face it, “Dad Who Doesn’t Write” is nowhere near as snappy.

Oh, and I’ve still got two small children, a full-time job and an ongoing search for the perfect new post that’ll move all of us out of London.

So I’m hardly blogging at the moment and am likely to be very sporadic until I’ve finished the second “reading” draft of what I’m working on in about two months time. I’m still very much about on twitter and you’ll find me on Litopia as well but blogging needs to take a back seat for now. Writing is a core part of the ongoing conversation with myself about who I am and blogging is currently writing deferred.

This will change! So do check in every now and then.

P.S. What am I writing? I’ve shelved the other two novels (one finished but not very good, the other derailed by doing a part-time masters through 06-08) and am powering through a middle grade/young adult novel with a parallel world/magic/science fantasy sort of context. I’m excited about it. I’m pretty clear about what the next two or three following novels could be about and I’m enjoying working on it tremendously. It’s both a big departure from my previous work and a return to what I originally loved best as a reader many years ago. So now you know.

About Dad Who Writes (Gabriel)

Writing, reading, listening, parenting... On Twitter as @dadwhowrites. View all posts by Dad Who Writes (Gabriel)

23 responses to “Writing/Why it’s quiet around here

  • penguinunearthed

    Great reasons to be quiet here! Glad to hear it is going so well, even if I miss your writing.

  • Dara

    Write on!

    We’ll just sit here patiently awaiting the announcment of your publication date.

    I’m struggling with much the same. Blogging is so much easier than truly creative writing and creates much more immediate results. It’s like crack for writers.

  • phoenixaeon

    It’s as good a reason as any 😀 I have patience. And if you do need a beta reader, I’ll be at the front of the queue!

  • Achelois

    Well done!

    Concentrate on what is more important. You are loved very much anyway!

  • Anna

    Glad to hear you’re writing!

  • T

    Still glad to see you on Twitter and glad to know you’re writing. Even if it isn’t here.

    Enjoy!

  • yogamum

    Just keep writing!!! (with a capital W) Blogging can wait!

  • Dominique

    It’s definitely tough to juggle both, but it can be done.

    Good luck!

  • Rol

    Keep going. Real writing is always more important than blogging. Blogging’s just here for blowing off steam. It’s the real stuff that satisfies the soul.

  • Brilliant Sulk

    I’m amazed you can get anything done with TWO children under your roof. I can barely brush my teeth or take a luxurious four and a half minute shower with my two little ones stomping around.

    Writing? Did you say writing?

    Yay for you!

  • drawingdad

    We all forgive you. (I can’t talk anyway, I’ve hardly been a prolific blogger myself.) Looking forward to the results of all your work and hoping to hear good news about a new job soon!

  • bsouth

    You’re in my reader, I’ll know when you’re back. And maybe by then I’ll have caught up with myself and be back reading posts on the day they’re posted, not a couple of days later.

    Good luck with the novel – I’m looking forward to reading it one day (and all the rest of them).

    Now, this Litopia lark – I tried the link and it told me access denied. Can I read things you have written there? Do I need to register or something? Or have you just posted a dodgy link!

  • J

    It’s quiet around my blog, too, and I have no excuse. Not any more busy than usual. Not Writing anything. Just kinda…meh.

    I do enjoy that genre, so I can’t wait to read your published novel. 🙂 Enjoy!

  • Selina Kingston

    I read with a mixture of sorrow but even greater admiration. You do what you have to but know you’ll be missed. I’ve been quiet as well recently. Nothing to say and too much work keeping me busy. Much rather be busy writing a book. Glad you are feeling so inspired – it’s such a great feeling. Good luck with everything x

  • mizmell

    You go! I’m just a tad envious that you know what needs to be done and you’re getting on with it–how wonderful! I’m still stuck trying figuring it all out.
    My hat is off to you. Can’t wait until you are published!

  • nonlineargirl

    Best of luck! I look forward to the result.

  • G

    Do you think that such a regimented programme produces inspired results or does it get a bit mechanical? Personally, I find that the discipline only comes with some strong sense of the purpose of the writing.

    Haha, oh – I just saw your list of unread books there – you really should read the Dao De Jing! Take you no time! The Stephen Mitchell translation takes considerable license but is good and very accessible. More strictly faithful translations can be confusing as the original Chinese is full of subtle and sometimes archaic untranslatable nuances. You end up poring through footnotes.

    • dadwhowrites

      I find I need to have some little stick to motivate myself with. The time I have to write follows on (typically) from a day that starts at 6 with a 2yo and finishes after we’ve finally got them to bed, eaten etc at about 9. At that point, writing needs a little extra push no matter how passionately I feel about what I’m doing. Also, writing occupies space, publishers pay attention to word lengths and I need to too.

      I’ve read about five translations of the Dao De Ching so far. Must admit, everything I’ve read about the Mitchell suggests I wouldn’t like it – I tend to be a footnotes person, I’m afraid. Probably why I love David Foster Wallace.

  • heartful blogger

    Oooh! 500 words a day…hmmmm. I currently write a 100 word diary a day. I wonder if I could squeeze in a few hundred more to do that I-keep-meaning-to stuff…

    • dadwhowrites

      Hey – I manage 4 to 5 days a week at the moment, I suppose, not counting very sporadic blogging. Or Twitter. It actually helps that I work – I have a few cafes nearby where I go and sit at lunch a few days a week with a sandwich and my laptop. Or I’ll steal half an hour if I go to the shops at the weekend. My current draft will have been mostly written in cafes fueled on Earl Grey…

Leave a Reply

