Oh God, I don’t know…

Friend: Do you still listen to music the way you did when you were a teenager?

Me: Yes. Absolutely. More so.

Friend: How?

Me: I don’t know.

***

Dudelet: You aren’t an author. You write into a computer.

Me: I might not be an author but I’m a writer.

Dudelet: You aren’t a writer, you use a computer. That’s not writing.

Me: I pour words into blank white spaces, even on a computer.

Dudelet: You’re still not a writer.

***

[Dad Who Writes, alone in his office after a short, unofficial office party. He is listening to the Jim Carroll Band playing ‘People Who Died’]

Dad Who Writes: Time to go home.

[Hits publish. Switches off computer. Leaves.]

About Dad Who Writes (Gabriel)

Writing, reading, listening, parenting... On Twitter as @dadwhowrites. View all posts by Dad Who Writes (Gabriel)

5 responses to “Oh God, I don’t know…

  • Mizmell

    Aren’t writers who publish called authors?

  • Achelois

    He has a point, you know. I was so happy I was becoming a writer 🙂

  • J

    I think you’re a writer. You write. That’s it for me. So many people have no interest in either reading nor writing, so I would prefer to say that anyone who writes. who takes the time to write the words down, is a writer. So there.

    Regarding music, no, I don’t listen the way I did as a teen. My husband does, though he might not think so. I think the medium has changed a lot over the years, and the way we listen. But his passion for it is just as strong, while mine is not.

  • jjdaddyo

    I don’t know if you know Neal Stephenson, but he actually writes his giant books out longhand, on yellow legal pads. Supposedly he wrote the first draft of “Quicksilver” on parchment with a fountain pen. (900 printed pages!)
    I bet Dudelet would be impressed.

Leave a Reply

