Insecure Writers Support Group

I’ve been tip-toeing around the edges of the writers blogging thing for a while now so I suppose this represents walking in at least up to my waist. The mission statement of this writers blogging support group (mediated by Alex J. Cavanaugh) runs

The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. Post your thoughts on your own blog. Talk about your doubts and the fears you have conquered. Discuss your struggles and triumphs. Offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling. Visit others in the group and connect with your fellow writer – aim for a dozen new people each time.

I’m not sure if I have any fears that I’ve conquered – I spend too much worrying whether anything I do is good enough, let alone my writing – but I can certainly shout encouragement!

Encouragement I’d shout this week refers to the notorious NaNoWriMo. Now I’m not taking part officially but I am using it as a great jumping-off point to break the back of the current draft of my work in progress. 1,667 words a day for 30 days should take me through to the end of it with a few thousand left over for scrapping a few chapters and starting over. So I’d shout encouragement at anyone using NaNoWriMo to tackle writing a book for the first time, caution that the hard work will start in December and ask if anyone else is twisting it to their own devious purposes…

About Dad Who Writes (Gabriel)

Writing, reading, listening, parenting... On Twitter as @dadwhowrites. View all posts by Dad Who Writes (Gabriel)

12 responses to “Insecure Writers Support Group

Leave a Reply

